You are what you do, not what you say you’ll do.

You are what you do, not what you say you’ll do. 

As an artist I get caught up in dreaming about what I can do and what could happen when I do it, and I have to say, it drives my wife nuts because I never (or very seldom)  ever follow through with it. Usually, its not that I’m lazy, (although that is something I deal with on a day to day basis) it’s that I have tens of thousands of ideas that I just get too excited about and instead of following through, I jump to the next thing. I’ll burst into the room, wherever my wife is, and say “Babe, I have an idea!”

The problem with this is if I keep getting excited about the next idea and never pay attention to my first idea. I’m going to be like the car on the side of the freeway or maybe still in the driveway out of gas because I have gotten enough feeling of accomplishment to push forward. I personally need to follow through in my life more with the ideas I come up with and I’m betting you guys might need to also. It’s simple, but come up with an idea or  plan. Make a goal list. For example:

How Can I Be A Better Artist

1. Draw human face for an hour

2. Study anatomy starting with hand.

3. Research other artists

4. Online classes or attend a college?

etc.

Soon you’ll get better and better as an artist. Maybe the list is about starting a business, or how to spend more time with your family. Everybody’s list will look different. Its ok, right? Great! Do it! Those small accomplishments will add a little bit of fuel into your car, you’ll start feeling better about yourself and your skills. Pretty soon you’ll have enough fuel in your tank to  drive out of the driveway and into the street and soon into the unknown or where ever you feel led to go.

In my life, I’ve been learning about this a lot lately and I saw Dale Partridge‘s (Founder of Sevenly) post on twitter this morning and couldn’t help myself but share it with you. Stop saying you “like to draw” if you want to be an artist, whether thats a comic artist, concept artist, storyboarding for movies, even a Van Gogh. Say you ARE an artist. Stop saying “Yea, I’ll do that later.” Start now! Make a goal list, a schedule, a plan of attack and do it! I know as free spirited artists we don’t know how to do that too well but Skottie Young (a marvel comic artist) did it, others artists do it.

If you don’t want to listen to me, thats fine… I understand…. sure it will just happen right? Probably (more than likely) not. So I leave you with the wise words of Batman:

W2yiN

 

Remember to subscribe, like, or tweet and share this with other artists! Enjoy!

Thanks!

Quote | This entry was posted in Drawings, inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

