ATTEMPTING TO BE MORE TRANSPARENT….

Hi Guys!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. After my first show in Claremont, I felt pretty humbled and I didn’t know why I didn’t do as well as I hoped to. I took a step back and thought maybe its my art, maybe it was what I priced the prints at, or maybe I’m an unknown artist and it will just take time to sell. I don’t mean to say that I crawled in a hole of depression after the comic show and didn’t want to come out again. But I thought I’d let you know that I’ve been reevaluating myself as an artist and have been where I should be headed.

1. After the Claremont Comic Show, I decided to redo my pricing structure on all my prints. I discovered a way to sell them at a lower price and will try to have that up in a week! Until then, My brother Brian, will be at the Claremont Comic Show THIS SUNDAY selling his custom action figures and my artwork as well (which I have pre signed).

2. I also did an artist study to improve (or maybe just take on a few attributes of other artists). I ended up doing a artist study on Skottie Young and definitely took somethings from his art style! I’m liking my style more and more now. I have incorporated other artist styles in to my art over the years and I’m thinking about featuring each of those artists on blog posts, Maybe 2 a month or something.

3. For a while, I was working with a great group of people at The Dadcast Podcast making comics for them. At them moment, it has been put on hold. But if you haven’t heard The Dadcast Podcast, Check them out now!

4. I don’t know if I shared this with you yet, but I have been married to my beautiful wife, Kristina, for almost 3 years now. It will be 3 years on July 9th! I’m super excited! There is lots of great reasons to be married! TONS! I’m super happy I am married! I have no doubts or second thoughts about it. But being married means I put my wife first. So I’ve been looking at different avenues to follow my dreams of being an artist, while trying still trying to support her. And just to let you know, I have thousands of thoughts running through my head everyday about how to make money, but art isn’t about how to make money, it’s about passion and then people will invest because you’ve invested in it. I don’t always run with an idea for too long but at the moment I’m looking into children’s books. I’ll post some sketches and character designs soon!

4. I’ve been super busy with family, friends, and church. This is where I invest most of my time when I’m not working.

And sometimes I don’t know if things are blog worthy. Things I don’t add to a blog usually goes on Instagram or twitter or something. I honestly don’t know who my “target audience” is (referring to this blog). I just want to share stuff about what I like, which I thought would just be art/ comic stuff, but I think I’m going to be cluing you in to more projects and thoughts I will be working on, life things, and whatever else comes up and I’m hoping, naturally, a target audience will show it self.

These aren’t excuses (or at least not meant to be). They are meant to give you ideas as to where I’ve been instead of posting. I think I’ll be posting more and more. I hope to be more genuine in my posts, and I hope you will join me and listen to what I have to say!

Thanks!

Brad Smith

This entry was posted in Drawings, inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ATTEMPTING TO BE MORE TRANSPARENT….

  1. Pingback: Bill your customer more professionally and accurately | Brad Smith

Leave a Reply

