I Couldn’t Stop Drawing…

Do you draw, sketch or paint? I started drawing when I was young, as far back as I can remember (literally). I drew my first comic book (if you can REALLY call it that) in 3rd grade. It was a class assignment to make up something and make it into a picture book. So naturally I made up a super hero and told his origin story. I think like any kid that grew up in the early 90’s, I drew with pencil and paper and colored with crayons and colored pencil. I would come home from school sit with my brother and neighbor from down the street, watch the x-men cartoon show and draw X-men. My neighbor introduced me to a book when I was in 6th grade about drawing human faces. Drawing: Faces & Features: Learn to draw step by step (How to Draw & Paint) After, I found a book from the library that would teach me to draw comics just like the pros!How To Draw Comics The Marvel Way At this point in middle school, I was taking as many art classes as I could while trying to read, and teach myself with these books. They were great! I didn’t learn about graphic design or that there was such thing as graphic design until my junior year of high school. I learned adobe photoshop and illustrator basics which set me off on a path to take my drawings digital. I started to teach myself more more and more of the adobe suite (photoshop, illustrator, inDesign, etc) and any other drawing program I could get my hands on. I met a good friend who gave me huge drawing tips and told me to look into doing figure drawing/ life drawing classes, get anatomy books, and find artist that you want to be like. This was the point that my skills as an artist grew and they grew FAST. I knew to surround myself with positive people, search for amazing influential artists, and other artists that would challenge me and take me to the next level. As an artist I don’t think I will ever stop learning.

Below I will have books listed that have influenced me and products I use frequently: *Reminder, all figure books contain some type of nudity (pictures or drawn). Please ask parents before looking at or buying these books.*

*This is written out due to nudity on the front cover.* The Figure in Motion: A Visual Reference for the Artist

 

Wacom Bamboo Tablet (Beginner)

(Click picture for details)

 

Wacom Intuos Tablet (intermediate)

(Click picture for details)

 

Wacom Cintiq (advanced)

(Click picture for details)

I will talk about these in more detail at a later time, but I will say the cintiq (which comes in multiple sizes) is what the pros use. I am using an old intuos. It gets the job done but Im hoping to get a cintiq soon! What have you been working towards in your life? What are your dreams, passions, etc? Do you want to become a better artist, a doctor, or maybe a teacher? Write your thoughts and experiences in the comments below! I’d love to hear from you!

 

And if you like what you are reading, Don’t forget to follow me, and share through social media! Thanks!

 

-Brad Smith

This entry was posted in Drawings, inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Couldn’t Stop Drawing…

  1. Tim Long says:

    Loved reading this Brad and the memories it brought back…I remember the book of sketching faces! Praise God for your talent!

  2. Pingback: Bill your customer more professionally and accurately | Brad Smith

  3. Pingback: This is why I love Traditional Animation…. | Brad Smith

Leave a Reply

